Sunday, March 29, 2009

15 candidates for Bukit Selambau by-election

The Bukit Selambau by-election will be fought by 15 candidates, the biggest field of candidates ever for a by-election in the country's 51 year history.

State Election Commission (EC) director Zainal Abidin Zakaria said the 13 comprising 11 independents, the Barisan Nasional (BN) and Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) would make the by-election the most crowded ever.

He said the highest number of candidates ever to contest a parliamentary or state seat was eight.

The many candidates mean that the ballot paper could come in A4 size paper to fit the party symbols and those picked by independent candidates.

A normal ballot paper is usually pocket-sized and is folded into two to fit the ballot box.

At the close of nomination at noon both coalitions, the Barisan Nasional and the Pakatan Rakyat found themselves having to grapple with 13 Independent candidates for the April 7 by-elections.

The independents are: Husaini Yaacob, T. Chandraajan, Mejar (Rtd) Anuar Abdul Hamid, Vaneson Michael, Abdul Rahim Abu, S. Moganakumar, Mohd Fadzil Abdul Wahab, Md Radzi Md Lazim, Loganathan Ramanathan, Saralaloganathan, Tan Hock Huat and A.Jayagopal, Khamis Awang.

1 comment:

Selamat Selambau said...

try surf this web blog ...

and read the good info about him. TQ!