Saturday, March 8, 2008


The final results of Malaysia’s 12th General Election is shocking and termed as “Malaysia Political Tsunami.”

It is the “racial swing” that caused Malaysia ruling coalition Barisan Nasional only won the simple majority of 139 out of 222 parliamentary seats and lost 82 seats to opposition. The opposition (DAP, PAS and PKR) have taken 5 states - Penang, Kedah, Selangor, Perak and Kelantan.

BN failed to obtained 2/3 majority which is 148 seats. It is the biggest setback in history for Barisan Nasional. Three BN component parties’ president lost in this general election. They are MIC President, Datuk Seri Samy Vellu (parliament Sungai Siput). He won 8 times and lost in his birthday to PKR, Dr. Michael Jeyakumar.

The acting Gerakan President, Tan Sri Koh Tsu Koon (parlimen Batu Kawan) lost to DAP, Dr. P. Ramasamy. President PPP, Datuk M. Kayveas (Parlimen Taiping) lost to DAP, Nga Kor Ming.

Four miniters lost their seats-Work Minister Datuk Seri Samy Vellu, Information Minister Datuk Seri Zainuddin Maidin, Minister of Women, Family and Community Development Datuk Seri Shahrizat Abdul Jalil and Rural and Territory Development Minister, Datuk Aziz Shamsuddin.

No comments: